Dragon Warrior IV NES


1 in stock

Category: Tag:


Dragon Warrior IV NES Game Cartridge

Dragon Warrior IV was released for the NES in 1992. Chunsoft developed the game and Enix published it. It is the fourth game in the Dragon Quest series. The game was divided into five different chapters. Chapters one through four will provide the back stories for party members of the main Hero. The fifth chapter will follow the game’s Hero himself, meeting with the game’s other characters. Chapter One starts when the knight from the kingdom Burland saves kidnapped children from some monsters. He then discovers the plot for killing the Legendary Hero, then deciding on going on a mission to protect the Hero. Chapter Two will follow Princess Alena, Chapter Three will follow a merchant named Torneko, Chapter Four will follow Meena and Maya, and Chapter Five will follow the Hero.

There are many playable and non playable characters in the game. The playable characters will be party members the player can control in chapters one through four. When joining the Hero during Chapter five, these characters will be NPC characters, only being controlled by Tactics command. The later releases of the game allowed the player to be able choose the characters actions. These characters are the Hero, named Solo as a male or Sofia as a female, Ragnar McRyan, named Ragnar in game, Tsarevna Alena, named Princess Alena in game, Borya, named Brey in game, Kiryl, named Cristo in game, Torneko Taloon, named Taloon in game, Maya, named Mara in game, Meena, named Nara in game, and Psaro, named Necrosaro and Saro in game.

The non playable characters will join the player’s party temporarily. Unlike the permanent characters in the party, they will not be able to gain any experience points or any levels. They also will not be able to change equipment and the actions they do during battle are not controlled with Tactics command. They will be locked in the AI default mode instead. These characters are Healie, Hardie and Laurel, named Strom and Lauren in game, Oojam, named Orin in game, Hank Hoffman Junior, named Hector in game, Tom Foolery, named Panon in game, Orifiela, named Lucia in game, and Sparkie, named Doran in game.

The fourth game in the series will offer many new features not included in the first three while also keeping many features that were introduced previously. Features kept were the night and day cycles, the player’s ability of traveling by ship or flying vehicles, and the keys having three levels. These levels are Thief, then Magic, then Final. The game will also have travel doors, allowing the player’s party to advance a larger distance on the game’s world map with not much travel. Unlike the third game, the player’s Hero will not be required to have in their party once a wagon becomes available. Regardless, the main Hero is once again the character who possesses the strongest attack and healing spells. Most of the armor, weapons, spells, and shops will function like the previous games.

A new AI system that is called Tactics has been implemented, allowing a player to give strategies to party members that become NPCs later in chapter 5. These Tactics include MP or healing conservation, prioritizing damage, while the player maintains the Hero’s full control. The wagon, the first game of the series to introduce this, allowed players to choose what characters are to be used during battle. The wagon is also used in Dragon Quest V and VI. The game also introduces a casino, which is a place with mini games that were played using tokens, with the tokens being able to be turned in for really special items. The games included are poker, slot machine, and Monster Betting that Dragon Warrior III introduced. The player being able to search inside jars and drawers was also first introduced for a way of the player finding items. Small Medals were introduced for the player to find for trading to get unique special items from the secluded King.

Saving a game became easier by letting the player save the game inside a Healing House instead of talking to one of the kings. The EXP points for a level up and save became separate commands. The programmers changed opening doors to using the command that appeared at the menu’s top like the format from the original Dragon Warrior, instead of requiring the player to search their characters’ inventories for a key like past games. The only thing the game required was for one character from the player’s party to have the correct key in their inventory. Since that command was added to the game, a door being unlocked was also added, including big Castle Doors. This command would late be terminated in the later games, which doors could be opened when the player attempted to walk inside them.

UPC: 7-19631-00004-3
Platform: NES
Players: 1
Condition: Used
Genre: Role-Playing
Region: NTSC (North America)
Rating: Everyone